Untitled 1
Canadian Society of Microbiologists Untitled 1

Untitled 1

STUDENTS  ::  Studying Microbiology in Canada

Studying Microbiology in Canada

University of Calgary

Department Cellular, Molecular & Microbial Biology

Overview The Department of Biological Sciences is organized into 5 broad divisions which represent the 5 areas of strength within the Department. They are: (1) Biochemistry, (2) Cellular, Molecular, and Microbial Biology (CMMB), (3) Ecology, (4) Plant Biology, and (5) Zoology.

Research Facilities - The Bio-NMR Centre where NMR techniques are used to study the metal-ion binding properties of transferrin and related metalloproteins and the metabolism in cultured plant cells that are potentially useful in reforestation.
- The Centre for Mouse Genomics (CMG) supports investigators by fostering the use of mouse models to understand human health and disease.
- Zoology Museum, Herbarium and Greenhouse.
- Tech services (located in the Science Workshop) can produce equipment to meet an individual researcher's specifications. The technicians at the workshop include a glass blower, metal machinists, and a carpenter. Additionally they can work with plastics.


- The University of Calgary along with the four other Western Universities (University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University, University of Victoria, and University of Alberta) are the members of The Western Canadian Universities Marine Biological Society (WCUMBS) which own and operate the Bamfield Marine Station. This facility is located in the village of Bamfield on the west coast of Vancouver Island.
- The KFS consist of two facilities in the front ranges of the Rocky Mountains: the Barrier Lake Station located in the Kananaskis Valley, 80 km west of campus, and the R.B. Miller Station in the Sheep River Wildlife Sanctuary, 110 km southeast of the main campus.
- The R.B. Miller Field Station consists of a cabin, cook house, bunk house, wash house and two trailers. The facility, which can accommodate up to 16 people, provides electric power and water. This Station is extensively used for animal behaviour and ecology research because of its isolated location and large nearby animal populations.

List of Faculty Dr. Isabelle Barrette-Ng

Dr. Andre Buret – Immunopathogenesis of infectious diseases, apoptosis, cytokines and inflammation.

Dr. Howard Ceri – Lectins in mucosal integrity; bacterial pathogenesis and inflammation, biofilms, prostatitis.

Dr. Robert Edwards - Integral membrane protein structure and light driven reactions of tryptophan.

Dr. Peter Facchini - Biochemistry, molecular and cell biology of plant secondary metabolism; metabolic engineering in plants.

Dr. Marie Fraser - Structural biology. Investigating the catalytic mechanism of enzymes using the tools of X-ray crystallography and molecular biology.

Dr. Lashitew Gedamu -Molecular Biology of Leishmania: Functional studies and stage specific regulation of genes involved in Leishmania survival and pathogenesis. Evaluation of Leishmania Vaccine Candidate Genes

Dr. Jeff Goldberg - Physiology, developmental biology and behavior of molluscan embryos; developmental roles of neurotransmitters; neural control and signal transduction of cilia beating.

Dr. Hamid Habibi - Molecular endocrinology; Pharmacology and environmental toxicology.

Dr. Dave Hansen - Genetic analysis of stem cell self renewal; Negative regulation of Notch signaling

Mr. William Huddleston - Undergraduate student learning and laboratory development.

Dr. Michael Hynes - Molecular biology of plant-microbe interactions; regulation of genes involved in Rhizobium symbiosis, Rhizobium plasmids, chemotaxis, microbial ecology.

Dr. Manju Kapoor - Regulation of gene expression in fungi; Molecular chaperones of filamentous fungi.

Dr. Stuart Kauffman

Dr. Manfred Lohka - Cell-cycle control; regulation of mitosis; nuclear envelope assembly in tissue culture cells and Xenopus egg extracts.

Dr. Elke Lohmeier-Vogel - Metabolism of pentose sugars by immobilized or freely suspended yeast strains. Undergraduate laboratory development.

Dr. Greg Moorhead - Protein-phosphatases. Regulation of fat metabolism in mammalian adipocytes, pre-mRNA splicing and carbon and nitrogen interactions in Arabidopsis thaliana.

Dr. Doug Muench - Molecular/cell biology of mRNA localization and the cytoskeleton; metabolic engineering.

Dr. Sergei Noskov - Theoretical biophysics of ligand transport. Molecular Dynamics simulations of membrane proteins. Development of free energy simulations techniques.

Dr. Ken Ng - X-ray crystallographic and biochemical studies of RNA-dependent RNA polymerases and carbohydrate-binding proteins

Dr. Elmar Prenner - Membrane architecture, domains and lipid rafts, biophysical techniques, DNA labelling.

Dr. David Reid - Plant stress physiology; hormones; root-shoot communication; root development.

Dr. Dae-Kyun Ro - Biochemistry and molecular genetics of plant secondary metabolisms; Plant and microbial metabolic engineering for the production of pharmaceuticals, nutrient-enhanced crops, and renewable energy.

Dr. Ken Sanderson - Genomic analysis and nucleotide sequencing of Salmonella and other enteric bacteria; study of intervening sequences in ribosomal RNA; maintenance of the Salmonella Stock Centre.

Dr. Carrie Shemanko - Mammary gland development and breast cancer; prolactin Jak-Stat signaling; mammary epithelial stem cell biology.

Dr. Doug Storey - Molecular biology, pathogenesis, and genetics of Pseudomonas aeruginosa.
Dr. Peter Tieleman - Computer simulations of biological membranes and membrane proteins.

Dr. Trevor Thorpe - Experimental plant morphogenesis; developmental physiology; micropropagation.

Dr. Raymond Turner - Metal resistance in Bacteria. Private molecular chaperones for the Tat-Translocase. Integral membrane protein structure and folding. Fluorescence spectroscopy.

Dr. Gerrit Voordouw - Molecular biology and genomics of the sulfate-reducing bacterium Desulfovibrio vulgaris. Characterization of microbial communities catalysing the oil field sulfur cycle by molecular biology methods

Dr. Hans Vogel - NMR and spectroscopic studies of antimicrobial peptides, regulatory calcium binding proteins and bacterial iron-uptake proteins.

Dr. Wic Wildering - Cellular and molecular foundation of neuronal aging and age-associated learning and memory impairment. Cell adhesion mechanisms and their role in the regulation of inflammation, nervous system function and repair.

Dr. Sui-Lam Wong - Gene expression, protein engineering and protein secretion in Bacillus subtilis.

Dr. Vanina Zaremberg - Lipid mediated signaling and regulation of lipid metabolism using the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae as model system.

Dr. Steve Zimmerly - Transposition of group II introns in bacteria and evolution of group II introns.

Financial Support Available Funding may be available through a variety of sources. Our current graduate students are funded through such sources as scholarships (NSERC, MRC, AHFMR, Alberta Ingenuity, etc), teaching assistantships, research assistantships, supervisor's research grants, GSA bursaries etc.

Please note that the Department cannot guarantee funding, and it is strongly recommended that applicants discuss funding of their program with their potential supervisors prior to admission

Admissions and Enquiries Graduate and Scholarship Administrator
Ms. K. Barron
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Calgary
Calgary, Alberta T2N 4N1

Phone: 403-220-6623
Email: kbarron@ucalgary.ca

Web: http://www.ucalgary.ca/UofC/faculties/SC/BI/

Untitled 1

CSM-SCM Secretariat
17 Dossetter Way
Ottawa, ON K1G 4S3

Tel: (613) 421-7229

Home | Site Map | Site Search |