Untitled 1
Canadian Society of Microbiologists Untitled 1

Untitled 1

AWARDS + HONOURS  ::  Award Winners

Award Winners


2017 CSM Murray Award for Career Achievement

Dr. Sylvain Moineau

Dr. Sylvain Moineau, Université Laval, Quebec, QC

Professor Sylvain Moineau graduated with a BSc degree in Microbiology from the Université Laval in 1987. He continued at the same university but in Food Sciences, where he obtained his PhD in 1993 for his studies investigating phages biology. During his PhD, he also spent 18 months at North Carolina State University. He then undertook an industrial postdoc in Florida within a division of the multinational Unilever. In 1996, he moved back to Canadaand the University Laval as an Assistant Professor in Microbiology to work on phage biology and resistance mechanisms in lactic acid bacteria. His was appointed full Professor of Microbiology in 2005 and since 2011, he holds the Canada Research Chair in Bacteriophages. Since 2002, he is also the Curator of the Félix d’Hérelle Reference Center for Bacterial Viruses, the world largest collection of reference phages (www.phage.ulaval.ca). Over the years, Professor Moineau has won numerous teaching and research awards and he has developed one of the leading international phage research programs. Prof. Moineau’steam has made a number of landmark discoveries that have changed our views of phage-host interactions, including his work on CRISPR-Cas systems. In 2016, Prof. Moineau was awardedthe Flavelle Medal by the Royal Society of Canada for his outstanding contribution to biological sciences. In 2017, he won the NSERC John C. Polanyi Award for his Canadian-based research that led to an outstanding advance in natural sciences.Professor Moineau was also on Thomson Reuters’s list of highly cited researchers in the Microbiology Category for the last three years (2014, 2015, 2016).

This award is made possible by the financial support of Canadian Science Publishing (publisher of the NRC Research Press journals). Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is greatly appreciated.

2017 Fisher Scientific Award

Dr. Étienne Yergeau

Dr. Étienne Yergeau, INRS-Institut Armand Frappier, Laval, Quebec

Étienne Yergeau completed is B.Sc. in biological sciences with a spcialization in plant biology and biotechnology at the Universtié de Montréal in 2002. He then obtained a M.Sc under the supervision of Marc St-Arnaud at the Université de Montréal for his research on the fungal diseases of asparagus. He then joined the team of George Kowalchuk in the Netherlands where he obtained his Ph.D. from the Free University of Amsterdam in 2008 for his thesis on the consequences of global warming on Antarctic soil microorganisms. Étienne then joined the team of Charles Greer as a postdoctoral fellow and worked on the microorganisms involved in the remediation of contaminated soils. In 2013, he was recruited as a research scientist by the National Research Council of Canada. He then joined the faculty of the Centre INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier in January 2016. The vision of "Le Labo Yergeau" is that the plant microbiota can be reengineered to promote specific plant phenotypes, potentially generating solutions to many real-life problems like climate change, contaminated soils and declining food production. In the mid-term, the research program of “Le Labo Yergeau” aim at finding new approaches to purposefully, reliably, and sustainably enhance the beneficial microbiota of important crops.

This lecture is made possible with the financial support of Fisher Scientific. Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is greatly appreciated.

2017 Armand-Frappier Gold Metal Award Lecture

Dr. George diCenzo

Dr. George diCenzo, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON

I completed my B.Sc. in Molecular Biology and Genetics at McMaster University in 2012, and I have just completed my PhD training in the lab of Dr. Turlough Finan at McMaster University. I am now beginning a postdoctoral fellowship in the group of Dr. Alessio Mengoni at the University of Florence in Italy. My research focuses on understanding the genetics and metabolism of the bacterium Sinorhizobium meliloti, a model species for the study N2-fixing plant symbionts. My work has involved the use individual genes, and in silico genome-scale metabolic network reconstruction. Using this multi-faceted approach, my work has contributed to the understanding of the evolution and role of the complex S. meliloti genome structure, characterization of genes important for an effective symbiotic relationship or for competitive fitness as a free-living organism, and the development of wet-lab and in silico genomic resources for further characterization of these processes. In the long term, I hope to develop novel strategies for engineering of rhizobium – legume symbioses, as well as for producing synthetic N2-fixing symbioses with non-legume plants.

This lecture is made possible with the financial support of Canadian Society of Microbiologists. Their commitment and service to microbiological research and teaching in Canada is greatly appreciated.


Untitled 1

CSM-SCM Secretariat
17 Dossetter Way
Ottawa, ON K1G 4S3

Tel: (613) 421-7229

Home | Site Map | Site Search |